District		2000			2001			2004			2010	
	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musli m	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musli m	Sinhal ease	Tami l	Musli m	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musli m
Colombo	17	0	3	17	1	3	15	2	3	17	1	1
Gampaha	18	0	0	17	0	1	16	0	1	18	0	0
Kalutara	9	0	1	9	0	1	10	0	0	10	0	0
Kandy	9	0	3	10	0	2	9	0	3	8	0	4
Matale	5	0	0	5	0	0	5	0	0	5	0	0
NuwaraEli ya	2	5	0	4	3	0	3	4	0	2	5	0
Galle	10	0	0	10	0	0	10	0	0	10	0	0
Matara	8	0	0	8	0	0	8	0	0	8	0	0
Hambanto ta	7	0	0	7	0	0	7	0	0	7	0	0
Jaffna	0	9	0	0	9	0	0	9	0	0	9	0
Vanni	2	3	1	0	4	2	0	5	1	0	3	3
Batticaloa	0	3	2	0	3	2	0	4	1	0	3	2
Digamadu lla	3	1	3	2	1	4	2	1	4	4	0	3
Trincomal ee	1	0	3	1	1	2	1	2	1	2	1	1
Kurunagal a	15	0	0	15	0	0	16	0	0	15	0	0
Puttalam	8	0	0	7	0	0	8	0	0	8	0	0
Anuradha puara	8	0	0	8	0	0	8	0	0	9	0	0
Polonnaru wa	5	0	0	5	0	0	5	0	0	5	0	0
Badulla	8	0	0	7	1	0	6	2	0	8	0	0
Monaragal a	5	0	0	5	0	0	5	0	0	5	0	0
Ratnapur a	10	0	0	10	0	0	10	0	0	10	0	0
Kegalle	9	0	0	8	0	1	8	0	1	8	0	1
Total	159	21	16	155	23	18	152	29	15	159	22	15
Percentag e	81.12 %	10.1 7%	8.16 %	79.08 %	11.7 3%	9.18 %	77.55 %	14.7 9%	7.65 %	81.12 %	11.2 2%	7.65 %

Com.	81.12	18.87%	79.08	18.87%	77.55	22.44%	81.12	18.87%
Percentg	%		%		%		%	

## Minority Representation in the Sri Lankan Parliaments of 200, 2001, 2004 and 2010

## Table 1: District level minority representation

Note: The present parliament has 23 Tamil MPs but in the chart there is only 22. It is because that in 2010 election no Tamil MP was elected to the parliament from Badulla. Only after the resignation of MP Harin Fernando in 2014 that the vacated seat was given to MP K. Velayutham.

Note: Highlighted in 'Green' are Northern and Eastern districts and the Nuwera Eliya district where the Sinhalese are the minority

Highlighted in 'Yellow' are districts with a minority community more than 10% Highlighted in 'Blue' are districts with a minority community between 5-10% Non-highlighted districts does not have a minority community more than 5%

Table 2: National list minority representation

	2000				2001		2004			2010			
	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musl im	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musl im	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musl im	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musl im	
Total	16	5	7	13	7	8	14	7	7	21	5	3	
Percen tage	55.17 %	17.2 4%	24.1 3%	44.82 %	24.1 3%	27.5 8%	48.27 %	24.1 3%	24.1 3%	<b>72.41</b> %	17.2 4%	10.3 4%	
Com. Percen tage	55.17 %	44.82%		44.82 %	55.17%		48.27 %	51.72%		<b>72.41</b> %	27.	58%	

Note: In 2000, 2001 and 2004 parliaments, K. N. Choksy was nominated as a national list MP. He belongs to Parsi community, one of the less known minorities. Therefore his seat is not included in the chart but has taken into account when combined minority percentage is calculated.

Table 3: Total parliament minority representation

	2000				2001		2004			2010		
	Sinhal ese	Tami l	Musl im									
Distric t MP	159	21	16	155	23	18	152	29	15	159	22	15
Nation al List MP	16	5	7	13	7	8	14	7	7	21	5	3

Total MP	175	26	23	168	30	26	166	36	22	170	27	18
Percen tage	77.77 %	11.5 5%	10.2 2%	74.66 %	13.3 3%	11.5 5%	73.77 %	16.0 0%	9.77 %	80.00 %	12.0 0%	8.00
Com. percen tage	77.77 %	22.	22%	<b>74.66</b> %	25.	33%	73.77 %	26.	22%	80.00 %	20.	00%

Note: In 2000, 2001 and 2004 parliaments, K. N. Choksy was nominated as a national list MP. He belongs to Parsi community, one of the less known minorities. Therefore his seat is not included in the chart but has taken into account when combined minority percentage is calculated.

Dr. Sharmal Kelambi (MBBS)

04.06.2015