Colombo Telegraph

Malinda Wins 2013 Gratiaen Prize

Editor in Chief of ‘The Nation’ Newspaper Malinda Seneviratne has won the Gratiaen Prize – 2013 for creative writing in English for his collection of poetry ‘Edges’.

This year the shortlist was made up exclusively of poetry and the shortlisted works for the Gratiaen Prize 2013 are:

  1. This Nothingness, a collection of poetry, in manuscript form, by Inosha Ijaz
  2. A Patchwork Soul, also poetry, in manuscript form, by Chamali Kariyawasam
  3. Edges, ar collection of poems, published by Fast Publishers, by Malinda Seneviratne

The judging panel for the Gratiaen Prize 2013 are:

Tissa Devendra (Chair) originally a student of literature, has had a distinguished career in the Public Service, working around Sri Lanka.  After retirement he has served as Chairman of the Public Service Commission and the Salaries Commission.  He is the author of Tales from the ProvincesOn Horseshoe StreetMemoirs of a Pen Pusher and Quest for Shangri La.

Dr Shavrika Damunupola Amarasekera is a Senior Lecturer in the Department of English at the University of Colombo. Her primary research interests are in childhood studies, postcolonial literatures and Sri Lankan writing in English and she has published work on childhood, ethnicity and Sri Lankan fiction in English.  She has a keen interest in Sinhala literature in translation and was a judge of the HAI Goonetilleke prize in 2012.

Vijay Kumar Nagaraj is a researcher, writer and teacher.  He has taught at the Tata Institute of Social Sciences in Bombay, India and most recently at a secondary school in Colombo.  He has worked on issues of rural community empowerment in Rajasthan and for a think-tank in global public policy research.

Back to Home page