Colombo Telegraph

MR Steps Down Peacefully

Senior SLFP-er Nimal Siripala de Silva was appointed as the Opposition Leader today after Mahinda Rajapksa decided to step down as the president of the SLFP, thereby avoiding the dilemma that had emerged due to existence of two Presidents in the SLFP.

Although it intially seemed as though he would not quit without a fight, former President Rajapaksa stepped down from his position today, peacefully. Announcing his decision through a statement, MR had stated that he decided to step down from the position in order to prevent the party from splitting up.

Accordingly, new appointments were made to the parliamentary structure as well including the appointments former Minister WDJ Senevirathne as the Chief Opposition Whip, Minister Lakshman Kiriella as the Leader of the House and Interim Government Minister Gayantha Karunathilake as the Chief Government Whip.

Earlier this week, SLFP MPs divided into two groups and one group expressed their support to MR remaining the party President while the other appointed President Sirisena as the party President.


Back to Home page