Colombo Telegraph

NPC Elections: Jaffna Commander Interviewed And Selected Candidates For SLFP

Jaffna Security Forces Commander Major General Mahinda Hathurusinghe and Northern Province Major General  G.A. Chandrasiri have jointly interviewed and selected about 20 candidates for the Northern Provincial Council Election and the Army is in the process of transporting them to Colombo today.

Maj Gen Mahinda Hathurusinghe

Colombo Telegraph learns that the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) is conducting the interviews to select their candidates for the Northern Provincial Council Election. The Interview panel consists of Ministers Susil Premajayantha, Hahindananda Aluthgamage, C.B. Ratnayaka, Karaliyadde and Fouzie.

In response to their newspaper advertisements they have not received sufficient number of applications and therefore the SLFP has decided to engage in alternative course of actions. In respect of each of the Districts in the Northern Province, only the following number of applications have been received:

Jaffna – 21 (including Daya Master and Remadius)

Mulaitive – 00

Vavuniya – 02

Mannar – 03

Kilinochchi – 06

In the mean time, the SLFP leadership has been informed that Major General Haturusingha and Major Geneal Chandrasiri (Governor) have jointly interviewed and selected about 20 others, who will also be interviewed today. Army is in the process of transporting them to Colombo now.  The President has already decided to put forward Daya Master as the Chief Ministerial Candidate with full military backing. Meanwhile, the EPDP and Rishard Bathurdeen have been sidelined for the time being due to their differences of opinion on the 13th Amendment issues.  Muslim Congress has already informed the SLFP leadership that they would contest the Northern polls on their own.

According to the election commission sources, confirmed by the the SLFP leadership, the declaration of the election is scheduled to be made on 5th July while the election day will be 21st of September, which date has been suggested by the President’s astrologers.

Back to Home page