Colombo Telegraph

President Keeps Law And Order Ministry Under Him As UNP Plans Continuous Protests

While the United National Party is planning to continue its fight against the prorogation of Parliament and the appointment of a new Prime Minister, President Maithripala Sirisena has decided to keep the Ministry of Law and Order under him.

Taking part in a political discussion on a private TV channel, a short while ago, UPFA MP Wimal Weerawansa said the President had decided to keep the Law and Order Ministry, which overlooks the Police, under his purview.

This comes in the wake of Sirisena’s accusations that the Police did not properly investigate into the alleged conspiracy to assassinate him in which, the President said, a UNP Cabinet minister was also involved.

Meanwhile, UNP Parliamentary group members Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe, Wasantha Senanayake, Suresh Vadivel took oaths in their new positions today while Ananda Aluthgamage, who was the first UNP MPs to offer support to Rajapaksa, also received a deputy minister’s post.

The new Cabinet members appointed today are as follows,

Mahinda Rajapaksa: Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs.

Nimal Siripala de Silva: Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation.

Dr. Sarath Amunugama: Minister of Foreign Affairs

Mahinda Samarasinghe: Minister of Ports and Shipping

Mahinda Amaraweera: Minister of Agriculture

Ranjith Siyambalapitiya: Minister of Power and Renewable Energy

Dr. Wijeyadasa Rajapakshe: Minister of Education and Higher Education

Wijith Wijayamuni Zoysa: Minister of Fisheries & Aquatic Resources Development and Rural Economic Affairs

Faiszer Musthapha: Minister of Provincial Councils, Local Government, and Sports

Douglas Devananda: Minister of Resettlement, Rehabilitation, Northern Development, & Hindu Religious Affairs

Arumugam Thondaman: Minister of Hill Country New Villages, Infrastructure and Community Development.

Vasantha Senanayake: Minister of Tourism and Wildlife

Suresh Vadivel: State Minister of Plantation Industries

Ananda Aluthgamage: Deputy Minister of Tourism and Wildlife.

Back to Home page