Colombo Telegraph

Sirisena Snubs ‘Civil Society’ Appoints Dayan As Ambassador To Russia

President Maithripala Sirisena has effectively brushed aside objections expressed by a group of civil society activists and gone ahead with the appointment of Dayan Jayatilleka as Sri Lanka’s Ambassador to Russia.

According to the President’s Media Unit, 10 new Ambassadors and High Commissioners have been appointed to various missions. They are: Prof Arusha Cooray (Norway), Dayan Jayatilleka (Russia), M.M Jafeer (Brazil), M.A.K. Girihagama (Canada), S.A.H.M. Wijeratne (Poland), S.S. Ganegamaarachchi (Sweden), S.S. Premawardena (Vietnam), Anuruddha Kumara Mallimarachchi (South Africa), Austin Fernando (India) and Noordeen Mohammed Shahid (Pakistan).

Earlier, as Colombo Telegraph reported, a group of civil society activists petitioned the High Post Committee of Parliament to reject Jayatilleka’s nomination on multiple grounds. They argued that ‘Jayatilleka’s ideology and the ideology that shaped the January 8 2015 movement for change are poles apart’ and claimed that he ‘has denounced the very concept of Yahapalanaya and members of this administration.’ Jayatilleka has since rebutted the arguments of the 94 petitioners and 14 organizations.

Back to Home page