Colombo Telegraph

Speaker Officially Confirms No Confidence Motion Against Mahinda Rajapaksa Adopted By Parliament

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya confirmed officially that the No Confidence Motion against fake Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa has been adopted by Parliament, this morning.

He also confirmed that 122 MPs in Parliament have signed the motion and he had received it. Copies of the motion and the signatures of MPs would be sent to President Maithripala Sirisena, for further action, he said.

Explaining the proceedings this morning, Speaker Jayasuriya said TNA Parliamentarian M.A. Sumanthiran presented a motion to suspend Standing Orders allowing the House to proceed with the No Confidence Vote.

The Speaker said the No Confidence Motion was moved by JVP Parliamentarians Anura Kumara Dissanayake and Vijith Herath. the UNP, the JVP. the TNA, the TPA and three MPs of the UPFA namely A.H. Fowzie, Manusha Nanayakkara and Piyasena Gamage also supported the No Confidence Motion.

Subsequently, the MPs who voted in favour of the NCM also signed a motion reconfirming their position and handed it over to the Speaker.

Back to Home page