Colombo Telegraph

Countries Supported Sri Lanka Are “Not Free Countries”

The 12 countries that voted against the Sri Lanka resolution today in the UN Human Rights Council are “not free countries” according to Freedom House and EIU Democracy Index.

The first column in the table below shows the 9 out of 12 courtiers are classified as ‘not free’ by Freedom House, and the other 3 countries are classified as ‘partly free’. The other column shows the countries rank on the EIU Democracy Index, the bottom entry is the average.

Back to Home page