Colombo Telegraph

UNP Stands Firm: No National List For Losers

The United National Party has not entered names of their losing candidates on the national list as opposed to the UPFA and the JVP, said UNP Secretary Kabir Hashim through an official press release today, going on to stress that the party is maintaining their stance within the framework and promise of good governance.

UNP Secretary Kabir Hashim

However the UNFGG has gone on to appoint losing ACMC Puttalam Candidate M.H.M. Navavi on its list.

The UNP Secretary’s press release also highlighted that Krishantha Cooray, an earlier listed name had voluntarily opted out, providing the party the opportunity to field the 13 best suited candidates from the list of 29 names provided. Cooray had reiterated that he does not have to necessarily be a Member of Parliament to fulfill his political duties.

Meanwhile the JVP who were praised prior to the elections for setting a new trend in the political stratosphere, when they presented a national list full of professionals, intellectuals and civil society representatives, have now shifted their stance, choosing to enter their Matara losing candidate Sunil Handunneththi.

President Maithripala Sirisena’s UPFA led party nevertheless have gone on to field seven losing candidates on their national list out of the twelve names they had provided.

Of the seven losing UPFA candidates stalwarts such as Mahinda Samarasinghe, Thilanga Sumathipala, Lakshaman Yapa Abeywardena and S.B.Dissaayake are now set to enter parliament through the back door.

Owing to the firm stance taken by the UNP not to field losing candidates in the national list, their womens’ and children rights campaigner Rosy Senanayake, seems to have missed out despite obtaining a staggering number of votes, much more than many of those that will now be entering parliament.

UNP national list;

Karu Jayasuriya, Party Chairman Malik Samarawickrama, D. M. Swaminathan, Venerable Athuraliye Ratana Thera, Dr. Jayampathy Wickramaratne, Thilak Marapana, Professor C. A. Marasinghe, M. K. D. S Gunawardene, M. H. M. Navavi, M. H. M. Salman, Dr. A. R. A Hafeez , Sirinal de Mel and Anoma Gamage.

UPFA national list;

S.B. Dissanayake, Thilanga Sumathipala, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardane, Vijith Vijayamuni Zoysa , Sarath Amunugama, Malith Jayathilake, Dilan Perera, Angajan Ramanathan, Faizer Musthapa, A.H.M. Fowzie and M.L.A.M. Hizbullah.

JVP national list;

S.C. Mayadunne and Sunil Handunneththi 


Back to Home page