Colombo Telegraph

Wigneswaran’s Oath Taking controversy Resolved After President Swears In Dayasiri And Ekanayake

The controversy over Northern Province Chief Minister Justice C.V. Wigneswaran‘s swearing in ceremony is seen to be resolved after the new chief ministers of the North Western and Central Provinces gave oaths before President Mahinda Rajapaksa this afternoon.

Chief Ministers of North Western was sworn in at the President’s Secretariat this morning

The TNA which has refused to have its new Chief Minister sworn in before provincial governor and ex Major General G.A. Chandrasiri requested the President to swear Wigneswaran in at a ceremony to be held in Jaffna. Initially some Government officials said constitutionally the Governor had to swear in Chief Ministers although the TNA disagreed. 

Dayasiri Jayasekera and Sarath Ekanayake took oaths before President Rajapaksa in Colombo today as chief ministers of the North Western and Central Provinces.

The President is yet to respond officially to the request by the TNA to swear in Wigneswaran, Colombo Telegraph learns.

Back to Home page