Colombo Telegraph

MR’s Candidate For Wayamba PC Chairman Defeated

In what is seen to be a ruling party protest against Dayasiri Jayasekera‘s appointment as Chief Minister the newly elected North Western Provincial Council today defeated the candidate chosen by the Mahinda Rajapaksa leadership for the post of Council Chairman, instead choosing a UPFA member proposed by the UNP. Voting was by secret ballot.

Dayasiri Jayasekara

Chief Minister Jayasekera who was appointed by the President after he obtained a record number of preferential votes, proposed the name of Indrani Dasanayake for NWPC Chairman.

The Opposition led by the United National Party proposed UPFA member  Dharmasiri Dasanayake for the Chairman.

When a secret ballot was held because there were two nominations made, Indrani Dasanayake obtained only 22 votes, while the UNP/rebel-UPFA’s preferred candidate obtained 30 votes.

The combined opposition has 18 members on the Council while the Government has 34.

The Government members’ protest vote comes on the heels of a similar incident at the Central Provincial Council election of chairman and deputy chairman, when at least seven Government members voted in favour of the opposition candidate nominated to that position.

Back to Home page