22 May, 2022



By Colombo Telegraph

Remove all MPs and Ministers who have so far been involved in alleged criminal offences

The shoot out in broad day light in Mulleriyawa area on the day of the elections (08 October, 2011) between MP Duminda Silva, also the Supervisory MP of the Defence Ministry and Bharatha Lakshman Premachandra, Presidential Adviser and Director General for Trade Union and Bharatha Lakshman Premachandra, Presidential Adviser and Director General for Trade Unions, that led to the death of Premachandra and 03 others, is no issue, the government can be allowed to cover up with special investigations and Presidential statements and guarantees.

This peaks on what this government had been cultivating with Ministers and MPs allowed to take law unto their hands, as with Minister Mervyn Silva and MP Muthuhettigama and the politically led brutal attack on FTZ workers on 30 May. Their public actions have often compromised law enforcement and with politicizing of State agencies, the police today have lost all respect and credibility in maintaining law and order.

HIrunika - There is no one to take responsibility

This broad day light gang war between government politicians in seemingly high positions within the political hierarchy, makes it wholly unnecessary for more and long explanations in convincing oneself, how seriously low, the law and order situation is in this country, despite what the government says in pacifying the people.

How much the investigations would reveal and how far they would be free and independent is any one’s blind guess in this country. Therefore with investigations allowed to take their own time and direction, we as concerned citizens, demand that this government,

(1) withdraw all armed security from all elected and national list MPs, politicians and public servants immediately as we believe, the necessity there was to provide armed security for elected MPs and Provincial Councilors since the 87-90 Southern insurgency and the LTTE terror is no more and therefore, emergency regulations have also been allowed to lapse.

(2) remove all MPs and Ministers who have so far been involved in alleged criminal offences and acts of public nuisance immediately, from their political party membership and have them removed (unseated) from parliament, forthwith. We also call upon all professional bodies, trade unions, democratic and “Rights” organisations to take up this call for democracy, as strongly as possible and as as soon as possible to rid this society of “armed” politics.

Consented Signatories –

1. Rev. Fr. Terrence Fernando

2. Rev Fr. Sherard Jayawardne

3. Dr. Sunil Wijesiriwardne

4. Kusal Perera

5. Anton Marcus – (Joint Secretary / FTZGS&EU)

6. Dr. Mahim Mendis – National University Academic

7. Prof. Navaratna Bandara – University of Peradeniya

8. Ruki Fernando – Rights Now Collective for Democracy

9. Jayathilaka Kammellaweera – Writer and Novelist

10. K. W. Janaranjana – Journalist and Attorney at Law

11. Sudharshana Gunawardana – Rights Now Collective for Democracy

12. Prof Ajith Abeysekera – University of Jayawardnepura

13. Gamini Viyangoda

14. Dr. Jayampathy Wickramaratne, PC

15. Silan Kadirgamar

16. Mahinda Ratnayake – Journalist

17. Philip Setunga

18. Dr. Selvy Thiruchandran – Women’s Education & Research Centre

19. Herman Kumara – National Convener, NAFSO

20. J. C. Weliamuna, Senior Attorney at Law & Lawyers for Democracy

21. Neville Ananda – Senior Attorney at Law

22. Chandraguptha Thenuwara – Artiste

23. Srinath Perera, PC

24. Parakrama Niriella – Film Director and Dramatist

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest comments

  • 0

    They are spot on, even though some of the signatories are pretty shady characters.

  • 0

    Who are these people? Get one million signatures to validate this call.

  • 0

    They are killing each other to get elected so they can serve and develop our country.

  • 0

    Once upon a time the “Nagara Saba” job was labeled as “sakkiliya’s job” now many sakkilias are fighting for these job, isn’t it funny?

Leave A Comment

Comments should not exceed 200 words. Embedding external links and writing in capital letters are discouraged. Commenting is automatically disabled after 5 days and approval may take up to 24 hours. Please read our Comments Policy for further details. Your email address will not be published.