Colombo Telegraph

30 SLFP Snubs To Sit In The Opposition

Around 30 Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) parliamentarians who are against the national government created by their party and the United National Party (UNP) are planning to sit in the opposition.

Currently these 30 MP’s are holding talks with former President Mahinda Rajapaksa, according to reliable sources.

According to an MP from this group they will act as a separate group in parliament.

The Kalutara district SLFP MP Kumara Welgama is tipped to be the leader of this SLFP dissident faction which will operate with the blessings of Rajapaksa.

However, according to the MP, Welgama will be only a figurehead as the true leader of this rebel SLFP faction will be Rajapaksa.

The leaders of other UPFA affiliated parties such as Wimal Weerawansa, Vasudeva Nanayakkara, Dinesh Gunewardena and Udaya Gammanpila too will support this group.

Meanwhile in a move to quell the actions of the dissident group, the SLFP leadership has said that anybody who acts against party wishes will seize to exist as electoral division organizers.

However, according to the SLFP MP this will not deter the group from going ahead with their planned actions.

The group is to inform their decision in writing to the party leader, President Maithripala Sirisena shortly.

The speaker during a recent meeting with party leaders announced that he will consider all 201 SLFP and UNP MP’s as part of the national government.

Back to Home page