24 June, 2024


Eighteen ‘Scientific’ State Ministers And Deputy Ministers Sworn In

Eight state ministers and ten deputy ministers were sworn in this morning as part of the promised ‘scientific reshuffling of the cabinet of ministers’.

Accordingly Lakshman Senewiratne (UPFA) was appointed as the State Minister of Public Administration and Management, and Law while Mohan Lal Grero was made the State Minister of Higher Education and Cultural Affairs.

Other appointments are as follows: A.D. Champika Premadasa (Plantation Industries), Sriyani Wijewickrama (Sports, Provincial Councils and Local Government), Weerakumara Dissanayake (Mahaweli Development), Palitha Range Bandara (Irrigation and Water Resources Management, and Disaster Management), Dilip Wedaarachchi (Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development, and Rural Economy), M.L.A.M. Hizbullah (Highways and Road Development).

Meanwhile Ameer Ali Shihabdeen was appointed as the Deputy Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development and Rural Economy while Dinesh Gankanda was appointed as the Deputy Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms. Ranjan Ramanayake who was earlier the Deputy Minister of Social Empowerment, Welfare and Kandyan Heritage, was appointed as the Deputy Minister of Social Empowerment.

The following were also sworn in as deputy ministers:

Karunarathna Paranawithana (Science, Technology and Research, Skills Development and Vocational Training, and Hill Country Heritage), Sarathie Dushmantha (Justice and Prison Reforms), Palitha Kumara Thewarapperuma (Sustainable Development, Wildlife and Regional Development), Manusha Nanayakkara (Telecommunication, Digital Infrastructure and Foreign Employment), Muthu Sivalingam (Internal Affairs and Wayamba Development), Seyed Ali Zahir Moulana (National Integration, Reconciliation and Official Languages), H.M.M. Harees (Public Enterprise and Kandy Development)

President Maithripala Sirisena, prior to the swearing-in of new ministers, state ministers and deputy ministers, vowed that the reshuffle would be done ‘scientifically’.

Yesterday 18 new ministers were sworn in while others retained their portfolios. The ‘vacancies’ were created when 16 SLFP ministers decided to cross ranks and join the Parliamentary Opposition.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest comments

  • 1

    If you remove my comments I will not write again. Sinhalese have no say in CT, only Tamil?

    • 3

      Mrs Udubaddewa

      “I will not write again”

      Did you write or type? Do you know the difference between writing and typing? Note chimpanzees too can type.

      • 2

        Hey moron do you say you type a letter or type a book although you actually wordprocess it on a computer. You write a book, artical or a paper. You don’t say that you type. You feaking idiot

    • 2

      Mrs Udubaddewa:

      I feel your pain. :)

      Aney Pauw!

  • 2

    Andare’s seeni kai.

  • 2

    Patholaya Gamarala does not understand what scientific means. This idiot prez should be kicked out pronto- absolute nutjob who does not understand the difference between his mouth and anal orifice. RW should be turfed out too for clinging to power on the back of this imbecile. No chance in hell for RW to come ointo power on his own strength and he will be a leach and tick for the rest of his political life. What a f…ing leader to have as PM.

  • 0

    Another bunch of morons and nitwits have been appointed who will achieve f….all.

  • 0

    I am wondering what they mean by ‘scientific reshuffling’. What is the process behind this result?

Leave A Comment

Comments should not exceed 200 words. Embedding external links and writing in capital letters are discouraged. Commenting is automatically disabled after 5 days and approval may take up to 24 hours. Please read our Comments Policy for further details. Your email address will not be published.