Colombo Telegraph

“January 08 Team” Discuss Alternate Action With CBK: UNP Invites All Disgruntled SLFP MPs

The SLFP group which supported President Maithripala Sirisena during January 08 election met in Colombo on Saturday to discuss alternate action against former President Mahinda Rajapaksa being given nomination to contest under the UPFA ticket.

The meeting was held at former President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga’s residence in Colombo 07 and was attended by several SLFP MPs including Arjuna Ranatunga, Duminda Dissanayake and M.K.D.S. Gunawardena.

Meanwhile, Minister P. Harrison, speaking to reporters today, invited SLFP MPs dissatisfied with Rajapaksa’s nominations to join the UNP and contest the Parliamentary election.

“Now Rajapaksas Saloon door has been closed and our one has been opened,” Harrison said.

He also said nearly 20 Parliamentarians of the SLFP have held negotiations with the UNP to contest the under UNP ticket for the Parliamentary election. He said they were dissatisfied with the UPFA’s decision to give nomination to the former President.

Back to Home page