Colombo Telegraph

Parliament Passes No Confidence Motion Against Fake PM Mahinda Rajapaksa

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya confirmed the No Confidence Motion against Mahinda Rajapksa and his purported government was passed in Parliament.

The motion was presented by the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna and was taken up for a vote when Parliament convened this morning. the UNP, the JVP, the TNA, the TPA, the SLMC and the ACMC voted in favour of the No-Confidence Motion.

The UPFA did not take part in the vote and vehemently protested the No Confidence process. Mahinda Rajapaksa walked out of the chamber soon after the NCM motion was moved.

Following the vote in Parliament, all MPs representing the UNP, the TNA, the JVP, the SLMC and the ACMC signed a motion to the Speaker reconfirming their position on the No Confidence Vote.

Through the motion, the majority of MPs confirmed that they did not have confidence in the purported Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, and his government.

Colombo Telegraph learns that 122 MPs have signed the No Confidence Motion against Rajapaksa, claiming Wickremesinghe was the legitimate Prime Minister in the country. Apart from MPs of the opposition parties, Manusha Nanayakkara, Piyasena Gamage, A.H.M. Fowzie, Wasantah Senanayake and Vadivel Suresh also supported Wickremesinghe.

The MPs who crossover to the UNP from the Sirisena-Rajapaksa alliance said they would immediately resign from their current government portfolios..

Back to Home page